top of page

SHAPE to Conduct Annual Symposium on PrimaryPrevention of Heart Attack and Stroke in
AsymptomaticPopulations at American Heart Association Meeting



The Society for Heart Attack Prevention and Eradication (SHAPE) announces its annual scientific conference on heart attack and stroke prevention to be held on Saturday, November 16, 2013 in Dallas, TX.

September 10, 2013 HOUSTON, TX – The latest in its ongoing series of scientific meetings on preventive cardiology through screening, early detection and treatment of atherosclerosis, the symposium includes many of the most recognized investigators, clinicians and academicians in the field.

Those presenting and moderating include Dr. PK Shah, Cedars Sinai Medical Center; Dr. Valentin Fuster, Mount Sinai Medical Center; Dr. Lawrence Fine, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; Dr. Taseem Naqvi,Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale; Dr. Daniel Berman, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center; Dr. Harvey Hecht, Mount Sinai Medical Center; Dr. Jay Cohn, University of Minnesota Cardiology Division and Dr. Morteza Naghavi, SHAPE founder and chair of the SHAPE Guidelines Task Force. For more information please visit go to the Society’s website


Primary Prevention of Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease

 Noninvasive Screening – Polypill Therapy – Vaccination

Saturday, November 16, 2013
From 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
The Adolphus Hotel, 1321 Commerce
Street, Dallas, TX 75202





Morteza Naghavi,M.D

 Welcome and Opening Remarks
Morteza Naghavi, M.D., Founder of SHAPE

and Executive Chairman of the SHAPE Task Force

PK Shah, M.D

Primary Prevention of Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease From Screening to Vaccination for Atherosclerosis
PK Shah, M.D., Chief of SHAPE Task Force Scientific Advisory Board; Professor of Medicine, Director, Division of Cardiology, and Director, Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center, Cedars Sinai Medical Center, UCLA School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA

Valentin Fuster, M.D., Ph.D

Update on Noninvasive Imaging of Atherosclerosis and Prophylactic Polypill Therapy in High Risk Population
Valentin Fuster, M.D., Ph.D., Director of Mount Sinai Heart, the Zena and Michael A. Wiener Cardiovascular Institute and the Marie-Josee and Henry R. Kravis Center for Cardiovascular Health, Mount Sinai Medical Center; Professor, Richard Gorlin, MD and Heart Research Foundation, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY

Lawrence J. Fine, M.D

National Institutes of Health’s Initiatives on Primary Prevention of Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease – Future Directions
Lawrence J. Fine, M.D., Branch Chief, Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch,Division of Cardiovascular Sciences, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, MD

A with Speakers

3:10 PM

A with Speakers and Discussion Panel
Topic: Primary Prevention of CVD and the Affordable Care Act


Harvey S. Hecht, M.D.


Associate Director of Cardiovascular Imaging, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York; Professor of Medicine, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York

Daniel S. Berman, M.D.


Chief of Cardiac Imaging and Nuclear Cardiology; Medical Director of Artificial Intelligence in Medicine Program; Professor of Imaging, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA

Jay N. Cohn, M.D.


Professor of Medicine, Director, Rasmussen Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention, University of Minnesota, Cardiology Division, Minneapolis, MN

Tasneem Naqvi, M.D.


Director Echocardiography; Senior Associate Consultant, Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale, AZ

Invited Faculty

Arthur Agatston, M.D., Dan Arking, Ph.D., Juan J. Badimon, Ph.D., Raymond D. Bahr, MD,Daniel Berman, M.D., Roger Blumenthal, M.D. Matthew Budoff, M.D., Jay N. Cohn, M.D., Michael Davidson, M.D., James E. Ehrlich, M.D., Raimund Erbel, M.D., Erling Falk, M.D., Ph.D., Zahi A. Fayad, Ph.D., Sergio Fazio, M.D., Ph.D., Steve Feinstein, M.D., Valentin Fuster, M.D., Ph.D., Craig J. Hartley, Ph.D., Harvey S. Hecht, M.D., Howard Hodis, M.D., Ioannis A. Kakadiaris, Ph.D. , Sanjay Kaul, M.D., M.P.H., Asher Kimchi, MD, Wolfgang Koenig, M.D., Ph.D., Iftikhar J. Kullo, M.D., Daniel Lane, M.D., Ph.D., Roxana Mehran, M.D., Ralph Metcalfe, Ph.D., Morteza Naghavi, M.D., Tasneem Naqvi, M.D., Jagat Narula, M.D., Khurram Nasir, M.D., M.P.H., Paolo Raggi, M.D., George P. Rodgers, M.D., James HF Rudd, Ph.D., John A. Rumberger, Ph.D., M.D., Robert S. Schwartz, M.D., PK Shah, M.D., Leslee J. Shaw, Ph.D., Henrik Sillesen, M.D., D.MSc., J. David Spence, M.D., H. Robert Superko, M.D., Allen Taylor, M.D., PJ Touboul, M.D.

bottom of page